Senegal Placeholder
Senegal

The region

Senegal is located in West Africa and stretches from the cool Atlantic coast to the hot Sahel region on the border with Mali. Although more than 60 percent of Senegal’s population work in agriculture, agricultural products account for only 17 percent of GDP.

Solar power increases the creation of added value

The agricultural productivity in Senegal can still be significantly increased. An important condition for this is access to a reliable power supply to ensure that the harvest can be processed and preserved. As a model project, the SolarBioFarm is meant to show how a successful and sustainable operation can be organized.

Challenge

At present, the conditions for agricultural cultivation in Senegal are poor. The agricultural sector mainly consists of small and micro farms that often still use traditional cultivation methods.

Description

The heart of the SolarBioFarm is a PV stand-alone system. It generates enough electricity for the most important equipment: a pump to irrigate the fields, a dryer, a mill and an oil press. The model project was initiated by the cdw Foundation and Senesolar SUARL. The local women’s organization KAWRAL is responsible for the operation.

Result

Through the sale of its products, the women’s organization KAWRAL generates sufficient income to ensure the sustainable operation of the power supply unit and the entire SolarBioFarm. Moringa oleifera is cultivated in compliance with organic food quality standards on one of the main fields of the farm. Part of the harvest is exported to Germany, where the nutrient-rich plant is enjoying growing popularity.

Senegal Placeholder
Senegal

Die Region

Der Senegal liegt im Westen Afrikas und erstreckt sich von der kühlen Atlantikküste bis in die heiße Sahel-Region an der Grenze zu Mali. Obwohl im Senegal mehr als 60 Prozent der Bevölkerung in der Landwirtschaft arbeiten, tragen landwirtschaftliche Produkte nur 17 Prozent zum BIP bei.

Solarstrom steigert die Wertschöpfung

Die Produktivität der Landwirtschaft im Senegal kann noch deutlich gesteigert werden. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür ist der Zugang zu einer zuverlässigen Stromversorgung, damit die Ernte weiterverarbeitet und konserviert werden kann. Die SolarBioFarm soll als Modellprojekt aufzeigen, wie ein erfolgreich und nachhaltig wirtschaftender Betrieb organisiert werden kann.

Herausforderung

Derzeit herrschen im Senegal schlechte Rahmenbedingungen für den landwirtschaftlichen Anbau. Der Agrarsektor ist überwiegend von klein- und kleinstbäuerlichen Betrieben geprägt. Diese bauen oftmals noch nach traditionellen Anbaumethoden an.

Beschreibung

Das Herzstück der SolarBioFram ist eine PV-Inselanlage. Sie erzeugt ausreichend Strom für die wichtigsten Geräte: eine Pumpe, mit der die Felder bewässert werden, einen Trockner, eine Mühle und eine Ölpresse. Ins Leben gerufen wurde das Modellprojekt von der cdw Stiftung und Senesolar SUARL. Die Verantwortung für den Betrieb übernimmt die lokale Frauenorganisation KAWRAL.

Ergebnis

Die Frauenorganisation KAWRAL erzielt durch den Verkauf ihrer Produkte genügend Einnahmen, um einen nachhaltigen Betrieb der Stromversorgungseinheit und der gesamten SolarBioFarm zu gewährleisten. Auf einem der Hauptfelder der Farm wird Moringa oleifera in Bioqualität angebaut. Ein Teil der Ernte wird nach Deutschland exportiert, wo sich die nährstoffreiche Pflanze wachsender Beliebtheit erfreut.