Corazon Creek, Belize Placeholder
Corazon Creek, Belize

The region

Belize is located in Central America, south of Mexico. The country is about the size of Hesse, but has only about half the population of Frankfurt am Main. Many villages are located in mountainous regions that are difficult to access. Their residents will not have access to the power grid in the foreseeable future either.

In its national development strategy, the Government of Belize has set a goal of achieving universal access to electricity by 2030. Many villages are remote and difficult to reach. Expansion of the national power grid would be time-consuming and costly.

Together with Solar Energy Solutions Belize Ltd. and ZENNA AG, the cdw Foundation has already demonstrated the technical and economic feasibility of a decentralised approach. The Smart Solar Off-Grid model involves the development of a decentralised power supply based on renewable energies. Since 2017, the first smart solar off-grid system has been successfully supplying electricity to the village of La Gracia. Building on the experience of the pilot, the model will be replicated at another site in southern Belize in 2021.

Challenge

In Belize, about 10,000 people still do not have access to electricity. In exchange with the European Union, the Energy Unit was founded in 2012. This is part of the Ministry of Energy and aims, among other things, to supply remote villages with electricity using off-grid systems based on renewable energies.

Belize has little experience with renewable village power systems to date. The solar off-grid approach can help the country achieve its development goals. In addition to building the skills needed for installation, commissioning and maintenance, the country also aims to revise the legal framework regarding the licensing of such off-grid projects and the tariffing to be applied.

Description

The community of Corazon Creek is remotely located amidst a difficult to access hilly landscape in the southern Toledo District of Belize. The almost 300 inhabitants of the village belong predominantly to the indigenous Mayan people. In addition to an elementary school, there is also a secondary school in the municipality, which is attended during the week by more than 300 students also from the 15 surrounding municipalities.

The national power grid is 13 km away. Since the village can only be reached via an unpaved gravel road, the expansion of the power grid would be complex and cost-intensive. As a result, the Department of Energy, the national electric utility, and the cdw Foundation selected Corazon Creek as the site for replicating the solar off-grid model.

Result

On behalf of the cdw Foundation, Solar Energy Solutions Belize Ltd. has developed a solar power generation system for the community of Corazon Creek. This will be handed over to the Ministry of Energy after installation. The national utility Belize Electricity Limited is responsible for the distribution of electricity in the village.

Corazon Creek, Belize Placeholder
Corazon Creek, Belize

Die Region

Belize liegt in Zentralamerika, südlich von Mexiko. Das Land ist ungefähr so groß wie Hessen, hat aber nur ca. die Hälfte an Einwohnern von Frankfurt am Main. Viele Dörfer liegen in schwer zugänglichen Bergregionen. Ihre Einwohner werden auch in absehbarer Zeit keinen Zugang an das Stromnetz erhalten.

Die Regierung Belizes hat sich in seiner nationalen Entwicklungsstrategie zum Ziel gesetzt, bis zum Jahr 2030 einen universellen Zugang zu Strom zu schaffen. Viele Dörfer liegen abgelegen und sind schwer erreichbar. Ein Ausbau des nationalen Stromnetzes wäre zeit- und kostenintensiv.

Gemeinsam mit der Solar Energy Solutions Belize Ltd. und der ZENNA AG hat die cdw Stiftung bereits die technische und wirtschaftliche Machbarkeit eines dezentralen Ansatzes nachgewiesen. Das Smart Solar Off-Grid Modell beinhaltet den Aufbau einer dezentralen Stromversorgung auf Basis Erneuerbaren Energien. Seit 2017 versorgt ein erstes Smart Solar Off-Grid das Dorf La Gracia erfolgreich mit Strom. Aufbauend auf den Erfahrungen des Pilotprojektes wird das Modell 2021 an einem weiteren Standort im südlichen Belize repliziert.

Herausforderung

In Belize haben noch ca. 10.000 Menschen keinen Zugang zu Strom. Im Austausch mit der Europäischen Union wurde 2012 das Energy Unit gegründet. Dieses ist angesiedelt im Energieministerium und verfolgt u.a. das Ziel, die entlegenen Dörfer mithilfe von Inselsystemen auf Basis von Erneuerbaren Energien mit Strom zu versorgen.

Belize hat bis jetzt nur wenig Erfahrung mit regenerativen Dorfstromversorgungssystemen. Der solare Off-Grid Ansatz kann dazu beitragen, dass das Land seine Entwicklungsziele erreicht. Neben dem Aufbau der für die Installation, Inbetriebnahme und Wartung erforderlichen Kompetenzen strebt das Land auch an, die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen hinsichtlich der Lizenzierung solcher Off-Grid Projekte und die anzuwendende Tarifierung zu überarbeiten.

Beschreibung

Die Gemeinde Corazon Creek liegt abgelegen inmitten einer schwer zugänglichen Hügellandschaft im südlichen Toledo Distrikt in Belize. Die knapp 300 Bewohner des Dorfes gehören überwiegend dem indigenen Volk der Maya an. Neben einer Grundschule gibt es in der Gemeinde auch eine weiterführende Schule, die unter der Woche von über 300 Schüler auch aus den 15 umliegenden Gemeinden besucht wird.

Das nationale Stromnetz ist 13 km entfernt. Da das Dorf nur über eine unbefestigte Schotterpiste erreicht werden kann, ist der Ausbau des Stromnetzes aufwendig und kostenintensiv. Das Energieministerium, der nationale Stromversorger und die cdw Stiftung haben Corazon Creek daher als Standort für die Replizierung des solaren Off-Grid-Modells ausgewählt.

Ergebnis

Im Auftrag der cdw Stiftung hat Solar Energy Solutions Belize Ltd. ein solares Energieerzeugungssystem für die Gemeinde Corazon Creek entwickelt. Dieses wird nach Installation an das Energieministerium übergeben. Der nationale Stromversorger Belize Electricity Limited verantwortet die Stromverteilung im Dorf.